So… Now What?– The Map

Lo and behold, the end of April! A very stressful month in more ways than one, and unfortunately not as productive as I had wanted it to be. To top it all off, I kind of fell off the project I was supposed to be working on, probably due to exhaustion caused by everything else, so the plans I devised at the beginning at the month don’t seem all that appealing right now, at least not in their current form.

So… Now what?

The Map– May 2017

I want to get back to writing regularly. Like, I don’t even care what it is– a short story, a character profile, a rambling mess– I need to write, and make a habit out of it again. Problem is, I’m kind of shit at creating habits for myself and making them stick. I’ve tried all sorts of methods and apps, all failed so far. I’ve already scrapped that schedule I created a while back, because I simply cannot stick to schedules and, anyway, life tends to throw stuff at you that end up invalidating them, so what’s the point? I don’t like micromanaging myself, though some sort of structure in my life would be nice every once in a while.

So, how am I planning on doing this?

There is a site I’ve been a part of for a few years now and that, like everything else, I have neglected. Like, a lot. That site is 750words, and I’ve had an account there since… March 2012. Wow. It still amazes me how I’ve been on my ‘becoming a writer’ journey for about six years now, it seems much longer…

My goal for the month will be to write there. I’ll be starting slow, maybe twice a week or something. And increase until I’m writing every day. This might happen this month or during the months to follow, but I think it has to be a steady progression. No rush, just increase and decrease the number of days as I see fit. One day I might even be able to write every day and take part in the site’s Monthly Challenge!

Now, I would also like to focus on a project, because it’s also an area I kind of suck at, too. It’s a big project, too, because I either don’t do anything or try to do everything at once.

Basically, when I decided to venture once more into the realm of blogs, I had this ultimate goal in mind. It was born from my desire to share my writing and improve, but it’s something slightly different, and it’s actually something that I’ve been thinking about at least since the blog I had before this one. I want to have a blog dedicated to a single world.

Not a bunch of short stories or series with no relation to each other, but an overarching thing. Maybe the stories don’t have a connection to each other, at least at first, but they all happen in the same world. I don’t know when this idea started, all I know is that I have a world in my head where I want all my stories to be in. Most of them do, others I need a way to fit them in it.

What I want to work on this month, and for the forseeable future, is just a small part of it, and not even the main part that currently resides in my brain and in numerous notes scattered along my notebooks and whatnots. It’ll be a testing ground to things to come, things that have been locked up inside me and that I want to pour out into pages and shape them into something great.

I’ll still be posting weekly updates here, not sure how much more I’ll be posting besides that, but hopefully something.

Happy holiday, and hopes for a better month!

2 thoughts on “So… Now What?– The Map

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve just started and I’m looking for ways to keep my pace up. I’ve been writing for years, but now I’m also blogging and it’s time consuming. I have to check that site out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

