The Map

the-map-march

This month is going to be different from the ones before, which is especially good because I was already feeling the need to do something besides what I’ve been doing so far. As I’ve probably mentioned over five times now, Camp NaNoWrimo is in April and, like every year for the last four years, I plan on taking part in it. If I had any ounce of self-regard I’d probably skip at least the April edition, considering what this semester promises to provide me with. However, since I’m stubborn and think I can deal with superhuman amounts of work, and since I survived last year’s NaNoWrimo despite the disaster that was November, I think things aren’t going to be that bad and that I’m going to reach the goal I set during Camp– 25,000 words.

(Looking at my last Camp, it seems I didn’t even reach 11,000 words. Uhm…)

Anyway, the past is in the past. Right now, my goal is to plan to write 25,000 words during the month of April, no matter what. But how?

I never made extensive plans for my stories. At most, I have a beginning, an end, and a general idea of what I want to do in order to connect the two. And that’s how my mind works, really– I have a general idea of what I want, maybe some established checkpoints and events, and adapt my plan as I go. That’s why planning was never appealing to me, since I didn’t want to limit myself in case I encountered a better idea for what I wanted to do, or my established plan stopped being appealing, and because my stories tend to stray from the plan regardless.

Still, during these last two/three years, I tried planning. This mostly involved establishing the beginning and the end, and figuring out all the bits inbetween. I’ve seen planning stategies out there that outline every single scene (sometimes down to the number of words/pages), but honestly that is just not how I work. If I’m going to put every single scene in a spreadsheet, why not just write the story right away? (And don’t get me wrong, I actually like spreadsheets,  and have found that using Airtable to plan my last project was both fun and efficient.)

I think that, in a way, I’ve already found my method, though it needs improvement. I just don’t know how to do it. Establish the beginning and end, and the major events that lead one to the other. Do the same with characters, figure out how they evolve throughout the story, how their arcs relate to the plot, if their internal and external goals are achieved and how. Have at least some idea of the space where the characters move, and weave it with the rest. Plot, character, setting. That’s really it, isn’t it? Who, what, where, when, why. A story’s DNA.

I’ve decided that, this month, I’m going to try a method I’ve known about for a few years and that I’ve been meaning to try– the Snowflake Method. From what I’ve read, I think it might be the closest there is to my “ideal method”: start from the general and go into the specific. I fear it might go into the too specific, but I can always adapt it to how I work and, this way, find out how I can improve.

So that’s what I’m going to do this month: I’m going to plan my project, once I figure out what it is, of course, using the Snowflake Method and write about my experience. I’m probably also going to write some short stories with my characters, regardless of whether they’re set in the story’s plot or not, in order to provide me with some development and perspective (and, hopefully, something I can use later on).

That leaves me with one pertinent question: what am I going to write?

I don’t really feel like picking up an old project, nor do I have any ideas for a new one. Camp NaNo is that time of the year when I just write short stories during the month, instead of focusing my energies on a single project, but then again it’s still early. Right?

Maybe I’ll take one of the stories I wrote these past two months, most likely one from January, and flesh it out into something bigger. And I have been interested in writing some Noir…

I also ask myself whether this project would be something that I would like to publish here on the blog, or maybe another blog dedicated solely to my writing projects, or if I want to get it published properly. Definitely not in a “traditional publisher”, at least for now, but maybe as a self-published ebook? I don’t know, these questions will have an answer when I’m on my way to actually finishing it and I know what this project is, and if it’s even good enough in the first place.

In any case, I’m giving myself this week to think of something, and I’m announcing it in my weekly update. See you then!

Leave a Reply

