Week 1 Update + Plans for Week 2

A week has passed in this new month, and I’m still adapting to my new routine. Since I had to buy a new phone this weekend, I’ve been looking at productivity apps in order to better organize myself, since visualizing the tasks I need to do helps me (I just need to actually stick to them). I did achieve all the goals I set out, though I still need to work on taking notes on the Craft Book and the Writing Course I’m taking this month, so that writing this post takes less time and becomes easier.

Week 1 Update

Prompts: This week the prompts were:

This week, I wrote 2918 words, 1117 for the first prompt and 1801 for the second! Just now I was building some graphs to compare my wordcounts for January and February, both on a weekly and monthly basis, and realized that I wrote a bit less this week than on the first week of January. I did this more due to curiosity than anything else, but hopefully, as I keep adding to these graphs throughout the year, I’ll be able to draw some conclusions based on these comparisons, gain some hindsight on how much I write and when, and improve where I feel the need to do so.

Craft Book: Read two chapters of Introdução à Escrita Criativa [Introduction to Creative Writing]. The first chapter is an introduction to the book and focuses on Creative Writing itself, the way it’s taught, and common misconceptions about the craft of writing and Creative Writing workshops and classes. To me, the most crucial point that this chapter makes is that it’s always important to learn the craft, no matter how much talent you have. After all, what’s the use of talent if you don’t know how to use it? Creative Writing classes, workshops, and courses have existed for over a century, and some famous writers took part in them. The ones who didn’t would correspond with other writers, or meet in cafés and other social spaces in order to discuss literature.

The second chapter reinforces the idea that talent is not enough to be a writer– hard work, discipline, knowledge of the craft, the world and even self-knowledge are fundamental. Writers must be determined to research and know about the world and people that surround them, even traveling to the places where the story takes place. They must also be disciplined, create a writing routine and not be limited by the comings and goings of their muses. And it’s always important to remain humble, for being a writer is a life long process of learning that never ends, and that what we consider to be good now might not be in few years. We must learn with those who are greater than us, and from our own mistakes.

Creative Writing Course: The first week of Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description concerned itself with persuasiveness, or the need for the story to be convincing enough for the readers to suspend their disbelief in order to enjoy a story. After all, a story needs to convince us that it’s real, no matter how fantastical its plot is. This is possible if the story is told in an engaging way, by describing scenes vividly and having characters interacting with and being influenced by their setting.

Plans for Week 2

This week I will be looking into improving my plan with better organization, as I mentioned in the introduction. Week 2 will also be when I’m publishing my Writing Craft Element post dedicated to Character Description.

Have a nice day!

 

Leave a Reply

