The Map

The time has come to adjust routes, look at the horizon, and determine where to go next! This is the Map of February.

The Map-- February.png

This month is going to be a bit different from January. First off, I’ve determined the need to define a schedule, mostly because I’m starting classes on the 13th, but also because it will be a way for me to organize my work instead of putting things off until the last minute.

Mondays and Wednesdays are days when the most work I can do is, if I’m lucky, some notes on my journal. I’m having classes from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., not counting two hours in public transportation (one to classes, another back home). I will try to get things done on those days, but I’m sure the only thing I want to do when I get home will be to rest or take care of urgent uni stuff that may emerge.

This said, all the other days are pretty much free. I have one class on Thursdays and Fridays, besides two hours of volunteering on both days, but other than that, I’m free.

So, here’s what’s going to happen:

I’m not writing up updates on my reading, because I felt, last month, that I was always struggling to find things to say. If I come up with something I feel is worth sharing, I’ll write a post on it.

I’ll be filling prompts from PROMPTUARIUM, and this time I’ll be aiming for 750 words per story, or 1500 words per week. I’m aiming to write the stories on Tuesday and Saturday/Thursday.

The craft book I’m working with this month is Introdução à Escrita Criativa [Introduction to Creative Writing], by João de Mancelos. My goal will be about 2 chapters per week, on Tuesday and Sunday.

This month I will only be researching two Craft Elements, as to give me time to properly research and plan the posts. I’m making separate posts for each, so I don’t have to spend as much time writing one very long post. They will be posted on Weeks 2 and 4, probably during the weekend. The Craft Elements I’m researching are Planning and Character Description.

This month and until early March, I’ll be taking part in an online writing course dedicated to Setting and Description. I’ll be posting my progress whenever I complete the week’s assignments!

Like last month, I intend on making an update post each week, and a reflection post at the end of the month. I would also like to write, every once in a while, posts just talking about my thoughts and life. While I’m not sure how comfortable I am with that (I sometimes get anxious just writing posts like this), I think it would help me unwind instead of having everything in my head. I’m a very private person, but I recognize that these thoughts need to go somewhere or else I’m doing myself more harm than good.

And that’s it for today! Thank you for the likes and the follows, and I hope everything just turns out alright for everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

